COUNTY OF BERGEN
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF DISABILITY SERVICES
Providing Programs and Services for Over 40 Years
One Bergen County Plaza, 2" Floor - Hackensack, NJ 07601-7076
(201) 336-6500 TTY (201) 336-6505 FAX (201)336-6510

James J. Tedesco, I1I Melissa H. DeBartolo, Esq.
County Executive Director, Department of Human Services
Anika S. Davis, Ed.S.

Director, Division of Disability Services

STATEWIDE RESPITE CARE PROGRAM
FACT SHEET

What is the Respite Care Program?

This program established by Chapter 119 of the Public Law in 1987, is designed to provide relief and support
to the unpaid caregivers of frail elderly and disabled adults. The Program provides services for elderly and
functionally impaired person to relieve their caregivers of the stress arising from the responsibility of
providing daily care. Services in Bergen County are coordinated by the Bergen County Department of Human

Services, Division of Disability Services, through funds provided by the New Jersey Department of Human
Services Division of Aging Services.

What services are available?

¢ Companions

o Homemaker/Home Health Aides

® Medical Adult Day Care

e Social Adult Day Care

e Short-term inpatient care in a Nursing Home or Assisted Living Facility
e Camp

e Skilled Nursing

e Caregiver Directed Option

Who can receive these services?

Families or individuals, age 18 or over, providing unpaid basic daily cate at home to a frail eldetly and/or
disabled adult aged 18 or over. Individuals are at risk of long-term institutionalization due to the inability of the
caregiver to continue in that role. The care recipient must be a resident of Bergen County, New Jersey.

What are the financial criteria?

Monthly income may not exceed $2,901 ($5,802 for a couple). Cost share begins at an income level of $1,402
per month ($2,804 for a couple) and is assessed on a sliding scale.

Liquid resources, i.e., assets that can be converted into cash within 20 working days, may not exceed
$40,000 for an individual, and $60,000 for a couple. This limit includes all savings and investments,
but does not include the value of one’s primary home, car or household effects.



Who will determine the amount and type(s) of services, and how many hours will be
available?

A representative from the Bergen County Division of Disability Services has been designated
to administer the program within the County. Based on availability, the sponsoring agency will
make every attempt to accommodate the client’s specific request for dates and times for service
as set forth in a Service Plan.

Emergency Service

If a caregiver is suddenly unavailable due to a situation of an emergent nature, Respite Services may
be used for a time - limited period if funding is available, and if all eligibility requirements are met. If
it appears that the emergency will exist for a lengthy interval, the Respite period will serve to allow
for alternate service(s) to be arranged.

How can one apply for services?
Contact:

The Bergen County

Division of Disability Services
One Bergen County Plaza
Hackensack, New Jersey 07601

Voice: 201-336-6503 /6506
Fax: 201-336-6510

For the Deaf or Hard of Hearing TTY:
201-336-6505
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